Investors

Stock Information

CEO’S LETTER TO SHAREHOLDERS

We enter fiscal year 2019 on the back of 38 years of consecutive revenue growth as well as the celebration of our 40th anniversary. We marked this milestone with a strong performance in 2018 that saw the acceleration of our evolution as a workflow company and was punctuated by many highlights that are opening new markets for us. These highlights include winning a landmark deal to provide our solutions to over 15,000 financial advisors at one of the largest wealth managers in the world, enhancing our Multi-Asset Class risk models, and launching the Open:FactSet Marketplace, a new platform that is already addressing growing client demand for alternative data. Finally, we ended fiscal year 2018 with the highest quarterly Annual Subscription Value (ASV) in the history of FactSet.

Throughout our 40 years, the talented and dedicated team at FactSet has built a strong record of growth by committing to providing best-in-class content, analytics, technology, and service to our clients in the financial industry. In each of our more than 60 global offices, one thing is clear: FactSetters worldwide have a passion for making an impact on our business and in our communities.

Everything we have achieved means FactSet enters 2019 with great momentum. We are ready to start our next chapter with the same energy and enthusiasm with which we were founded 40 years ago, and I look forward to working with you on this next phase of growth.

Phil Snow
Chief Executive Officer

ceo

Shareholder Overview

Fiscal Year 2018 In Review

Fiscal 2018 results continued our positive topline growth. Organic revenue was up 5.6% while annual subscription value (“ASV”) increased 5.7% organically. This fiscal year marked our 40th year of operation, our 38th consecutive year of revenue growth and our 22nd consecutive year of adjusted earnings growth as a public company. We have dedicated ourselves to helping our clients navigate an uncertain environment. As of August 31, 2018, ASV totaled $1.39 billion, an increase of $74.4 million over the prior year. In addition, clients and users reached new highs of 5,142 and 91,897, respectively, in fiscal 2018. We returned $393.4 million to stockholders in the form of share repurchases and dividends.

In fiscal 2018, we continued to diversity our suite of solutions through the integration of our acquisitions and new product investments. We enhanced our Multi-Asset Class (“MAC”) risk models, leading to several global client wins and strengthening our position in the analytics market. We expanded our Content and Technology Solutions (“CTS”) workflow and launched the Open:FactSet Marketplace, a new platform to address the demand for integrating both financial and alternative data. We also added Data Exploration, a platform for financial professionals to evaluate alternative and financial datasets and build investment applications in a fully hosted environment, to the Open:FactSet Marketplace.

As of August 31, 2018, the close of our fiscal year 2018:

  • 40 years in business
  • 38 consecutive years of revenue growth
  • 22 consecutive years of adjusted earnings growth as a public company
  • 13 years of increasing quarterly dividends every year.
  • 9,500 employees
  • 64 offices in 24 countries
  • 5,000 clients
  • 92,000 global users

Key Financial Metrics

  • Adjusted EPS growth of 16.7%
  • Dividend growth of 14.3%
  • Global client count growth of 8.4%
  • Client retention rate: 95%
  • Annual subscription value growth: 5.7%
  • Repurchased $304 million in common stock

What We Do

FactSet makes it easy for financial professionals to convert raw data into powerful insight, reporting, and analysis.

Who We Serve

  • Portfolio Managers
  • Risk Managers
  • Quantitative Analysts
  • Performance Managers
  • Financial Advisors
  • Client Service and Marketing
  • Buy-Side Traders
  • Investment Bankers
  • Sell-Side Research
  • Technologists

Analyst Research

FactSet is currently followed by the brokerage firms and analysts listed below. This list may not be complete and is subject to change as firms add or delete coverage of FactSet.

Broker Analyst Email
D. A. Davidson & Co. Peter Heckmann pheckmann@dadco.com
Northcoast Research Holdings, LLC Keith Housum keith.housum@northcoastresearch.com
Goldman Sachs & Co. George Tong george.tong@gs.com
Barclays Manav Patnaik manav.patnaik@barclays.com
Raymond James Patrick O'shaughnessy Patrick.OShaughnessy@RaymondJames.com
Macquarie Research Hamzah Mazari hamzah.mazari@macquarie.com
Stifel Nicolaus & Company, Inc. Shlomo Rosenbaum shrosenbaum@stifel.com
UBS Alex Kramm alex.kramm@ubs.com
Bank of America Merrill Lynch David Chu david.j.chu@baml.com
Piper Jaffray Peter Appert peter.p.appert@pjc.com
Wells Fargo Securities, LLC Bill Warmington bill.warmington@wellsfargo.com
William Blair & Company, LLC Tim McHugh TMcHugh@williamblair.com
Morgan Stanley Toni Kaplan toni.kaplan@morganstanley.com
Oppenheimer & Co. Glenn Greene glenn.greene@opco.com
Cantor Fitzgerald Joseph Foresi jforesi@cantor.com

Any opinions, estimates, or forecasts regarding FactSet’s historical or predicted performance made by the analysts at these firms do not represent opinions, forecasts, or predictions of FactSet or its management. FactSet is providing this listing as a service to its stockholders, and does not by listing these firms imply its endorsement, conclusions, or recommendations. You may obtain copies of analysts’ reports on your own, FactSet does not distribute these reports.

Contact

Investor Relations/Media Relations
Rima Hyder
Vice President, External Communications
rima.hyder@factset.com
+1.857.265.7523